Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame Honoring those who have advanced Colorado’s unique legacy in space-related endeavors.

Introducing Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame

Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame Award

Colorado has always been committed to space and with so many heroes connected to the state, we are honored to show our appreciation to the astronauts, aerospace executives, government officials, scholars and other public and private sector leaders who have contributed most significantly to the evolution, success and development of Colorado’s space economy as one of the most important in the nation and world.

Join us October 7, 2016, during World Space Week, for the inaugural landmark gala. Proceeds benefit education and outreach programs of the Space Foundation in order to continue to inspire new heroes for generations.

Gov. John W. Hickenlooper

“Colorado is a powerhouse state in aerospace thanks to the many business, government, military and research leaders who have advanced our space capability and inspired our youth for space endeavors. The Space Foundation has been a catalyst to propel our economy and we are proud that they call Colorado home. Congratulations to the courageous leaders with the Foundation's Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame.”

—Gov. John W. Hickenlooper

Celebrate Colorado Space Heroes!

Colorado Space Heroes Inaugural Gala
Friday, October 7, 2016
Mile High Station • Denver, Colorado


Meet the heroes who expanded our universe.
General James V. Hartinger

General James V. Hartinger, USAF (Ret.)
(Posthumous Award)

For his work as Commander in Chief, North American Air Defense Command, Commander in Chief, North American Aerospace Defense Command, and as the first Commander of U.S. Air Force Space Command

Ronald M. Sega, Ph.D.

Ronald M. Sega, Ph.D.

For his work as a NASA astronaut; Professor and Director, Systems Engineering Programs, Colorado State University; Director of Defense Research & Engineering; and leadership in the U.S. Air Force Reserve (retired Major General)

Alan Stern, Ph.D.

Alan Stern, Ph.D.

For leading NASA's New Horizons mission to the Pluto system and the Kuiper Belt, his work as a planetary scientist, space program executive, aerospace consultant and author; named to the Time 100 in 2007 and 2016

The Honorable Peter B. Teets

The Honorable Peter B. Teets

For his work on space programs at Martin Marietta; for his leadership as President of Martin Marietta Denver Aerospace, and President of Martin Marietta Space Group; his global industry leadership as President and Chief Operating Officer of Lockheed Martin Corp.; and his service as 13th Director of the National Reconnaissance Office and Under Secretary of the U.S. Air Force

A Special Thank You to Our Selection Judges

Vicky Lea
Metro Denver Economic Development Corporation

Maj. Gen. Jay H. Lindell, USAF (Ret.)
Colorado Aerospace and Defense Industry Champion

Andrew Merritt
Colorado Springs Regional Business Alliance

Col. Gary Eugene Payton, USAF (Ret.)
Former NASA Astronaut and Instructor, U.S. Air Force Academy


Don't miss this landmark gala.
Friday, October 7, 2016 • Mile High Station • Denver, CO
6:30 p.m. Reception and Auction  
7:30 p.m. Dinner and Program  
9:30 p.m. After-Dinner Celebration with music, dancing, and hosted beer and wine  
  Dress code is formal, black-and-white attire. Guests must be 21 years or older. Complimentary parking is available. View map


Sponsorship Opportunities


Space is limited. Reserve your seat today.

Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame Gala

Friday, October 7, 2016 • Mile High Station, Denver

Back to Top